If your divorce is uncontested, we can get it for you without you having to go to court! All you have to do is send our lawyers the necessary information and then sign the divorce complaint once we’ve drafted it for you. We will take care of everything else, including filing the complaint, serving it on the other party, sending out the required notices and going to court. It usually takes 45 to 60 days from the return of the original papers to us to complete your divorce. It’s that simple.
You can obtain an uncontested divorce in North Carolina if you have been separated from your spouse for one full year and at least one of you lives in North Carolina at the time that you file for divorce. The divorce is “uncontested” if there is no dispute by your spouse over the date of separation.
Even if you have not come to a final settlement on custody, property or support, you can still get your divorce and reserve the other issues to heard by the Court at a later date.
There is a flat fee of $1,000.00 for this service, which includes all of the filing and court fees associated with it. It does not include the fee for a private process server or service by publication if one of those extraordinary means of service becomes necessary.
- You or your spouse must have resided in North Carolina for at least six months before filing for divorce.
- We will file your divorce in Wake County and our representation of you is limited to Wake County.
- The entry of a divorce order could terminate any rights you may have to ask for post-separation support, alimony, or a division of property. We can discuss those rights with you when you contact our Raleigh law office. The Divorce by Mail program is only for an uncontested divorce.